vyo winter concert

This afternoon’s winter concert with the Vermont Youth Orchestra featured a melodic mix of an overture, a concerto, a symphony, and a concertpiece…the performance beginning and ending with the dancing Bohemian sounds of Smetana and Dvořák, respectively.

I’m always impressed with the VYO’s exceedingly high level of musicianship, from the delicate viola pizzicatti and lovely flute and clarinet passages at the start of 8th symphony to the heroic timpani, cellos, low brass and third violins in the last movement.

I’m very much looking forward to hearing how the VYO’s relationship continues to unfold with Music Alive composer-in-residence Robert Paterson. While I didn’t personally love today’s Paterson original, Enlightened City, that doesn’t mean there was anything “wrong” with it. Music is like that: it hits you or it doesn’t. And I can honestly say I don’t think Paterson would find much to enjoy about my composing either. (I don’t write music. I admire the talent of those who do.)

Next event in the VYO’s busy calendar is coming up on Friday, Feb. 12th. That evening they’re hosting a live recording session with From the Top, the nationally-broadcast radio program featuring young musicians. (Ticket info at FlynnTix.org)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “vyo winter concert”

  1. Caroline Whiddon Says:

    Cheryl, thanks for attending the VYO concerts and sharing your thoughts afterwards. It’s always interesting to hear from audience members about what really “hits” them, as well as the stuff that “misses”. I’m just glad that you and so many other wonderful fans were there to share in the experience!

    Hope to see you at From The Top!

    Caroline Whiddon
    VYOA Executive Director

  2. Cheryl Says:

    Hi Caroline, it’s true the Enlightened City wasn’t my favorite Paterson work, though I really like his choral setting of Do Not Stand At My Grave And Weep…absolutely beautiful. I’m anticipating his next works with the VYO. Thanks for checking in here! – C.

Leave a Reply

