like sonny

The week after the Discover Jazz Festival is always such a let down. There’s so much, for such a concentrated time – and then it’s all gone.

I’m consoling myself this week with some of the photos taken during the 10 days of the Fest, catching up on everyone else’s blogs reviewing the shows, and listening to recordings I’ve recently had my ears re-opened to, like Sonny Rollins’ The Bridge and Easy Star All Stars’ Dub Side of the Moon. It’s been fun.

In Bob Blumenthal’s Meet the Artist session with Sonny Rollins last Friday night (was that really only a week ago!?), Mr. Rollins was asked by an audience member about his relationship with John Coltrane. “Ah, I knew I’d get the Coltrane question!” was how his answer began, with chuckles from the audience. He went on to say that he considered himself and Trane “good friends, I would say we were very good friends”.

If you’re in Fest withdrawal like me this week, here’s a little story that will go some way to help by offering a deeper answer to that “Coltrane question”. (You’ll just have to get past the pretentious way the filmmaker says “saxophonist” – saxOFF-onist. He’s not English. So I don’t care where he got it from, it sounds pretentious. Otherwise – a great story, well, told.)

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

