orchestrion

Excerpted report from a friend who attended Pat Metheny’s “Orchestrion” concert this past Tuesday evening at Burlington’s Flynn Center:

” … it was incredible! Initially I was just taken aback by his acoustic guitar playing and then hollow-body guitar playing (his ability to solo forever and outline complex changes is really second to none.) He also busted out what he calls a “picasso guitar”, it had a harp and two other sets of strings besides the main 6, I’ve never seen anything quite like it. Following that, I don’t even know what to say about how cool his whole Orchestrion setup and Suite of music he wrote for it was. I pretty much had my jaw dropped the whole time as he controlled an entire orchestra through his guitar! And I’m still trying to replay the show in my head and figure out what everything was! Anyway, it was an amazing experience…”

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

