change is gonna come

From Egypt, “the sound of freedom”. This is a collaboration between Sout Alhoureya, Amir Eid Hawary, Hany Adel , and Sherif Mostafa.

Who will write Libya’s freedom anthem? Will anyone be left standing to write it when the bloody civilian massacre is over?

I went out and said I’m not coming back
I wrote with my blood in every street
We made those who couldn’t hear, finally listen
We broke down all the barriers
Our weapon was our dreams
And tomorrow is clear in front of us
For so long we’ve been waiting
We’re looking, we can’t find our place

In every street in my country the sound of freedom is calling
In every street in my country the sound of freedom is calling

We raised our heads to the sky
And hunger no longer worries us
The most important thing is our right
And writing our history with our blood
If you were one of us
Better not blabber and tell us
To go away and leave our dream
And stop saying the word “I”

In every street in my country the sound of freedom is calling
In every street in my country the sound of freedom is calling
The sound of freedom is calling.

(Lyrics translated by Ishaat)

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

