festival international de jazz, montreal

kidjo / reeves / wright

The 32nd annual Montreal Jazz Festival gets underway today. I won’t be going to the Festival this year since I’ve just taken some time off over the last week to spend with visiting family. That’s about all the vacation time I can take right now. I’d be there if I could, I try to get there every year if possible since it’s just a couple of hours north.

And what a lineup! – again. It starts today with the usual exciting, interesting assortment of music on the outdoor stages. Then tonight’s headliners include Milton Nascimento, Prince (in two sold-out shows), Brad Mehldau, and a strong triple bill with Angélique Kidjo, Dianne Reeves and Lizz Wright in a tribute show to late singers Odetta and Miriam Makeba. Wow. That’s day one.

Keep in touch, leave a comment here if you go and let me know how it’s going up there. Sorry I won’t see you at the Fest this year!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

