p is for pops

It’s been a long time since I saw the Boston Pops. In fact to say I saw them at all the first time is a …slight… overstatement. It was a hot July evening, mid-80s. This is about how big the Esplanade looked from my grassy vantage point along the Charles:

With somewhere around a million people between me and the shell, more or less. So it was a moderately memorable experience at best, at least musically speaking.

Fast forward to this afternoon, 4pm at magnificent Symphony Hall:

Symphony Hall, Boston

The holiday pops programs are in full swing (yes, ‘swing’) now, with awesome musical arrangements, soloists, a few props, nifty lighting and the full Tanglewood Festival Chorus. I won’t give the other surprises away except to say “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” is a real show-stopper (good thing it comes after intermission), and the Pops does a version of the 12 Days of Christmas that’s unequaled. Their 12 Days is so popular that they’re offering it now as a download at the website – recommended.

I’m glad I had better seats this time around. And I’m glad it’s not going to be another 20+ years until I hear/see them again.

It’s good to be in Boston.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

